2016 CPMT Award Recipients


Electronics Manufacturing Technology Award

Photo Y Guo
Yifan Guo

ASE, Shanghai, China

For pioneering work in development and mass production of new packaging technologies and processes, including the first BGA interconnection, as well as characterization methodologies for reliability evaluation/predication and thermal solutions in semiconductor packaging.

Outstanding Sustained Technical Contribution Award

 Photo M Lu

Minhua Lu

IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA

For outstanding contributions to the fundamental understanding, optimization, and manufacturing implementation of Pb-free solders and contact metal layers for high performance chip interconnects.

Exceptional Technical Achievement Award

Photo X Luo
Xiaobing Luo

Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

For exceptional contribution in modeling and experimental characterization of IC/LED packaging, focusing primarily on thermal packaging and innovations in packaging processes.


David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award

Photo J Xue
Jie Xue

Cisco Systems, Inc., USA

For outstanding leadership of the CPMT Society as Vice President and President, with key impact on globalization, industry connections, technical committee revitalization, as well as initiating transformation to prepare the Society for rapid, disruptive changes in the semiconductor and electronics industries.

Regional Contribution Award - Region 8 (Europe, Africa, Middle East)

Photo Z Illyfalvi Vitez
Zsolt Illyefalvi-Vitéz

Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

For outstanding contributions in promoting electronic packaging and IEEE CPMT networking activities in East Europe and Region 8, including founding the ISSE - International Spring Seminar on Electronics Technology and establishing and developing the IEEE CPMT Hungary-Romania Joint Chapter.

Regional Contribution Award - Region 10 (Asia & Pacific)

Photo Y Ando
Yasuhiro Ando

FUJIKURA Ltd., Japan

For contributions to the reconstruction and activation of the CPMT Japan Chapter as Vice Chair and Chair, and leadership in electronics and photonics packaging technologies development in Japan.